Microbiology and Immunology Department Highlights

On December 19, 2012 by Grad Forum

The students in the Microbiology and Immunology Program have had a remarkably successful year, receiving a variety of awards and recognition from on and off campus. Several of our students graduated this year: Kevin Hart, in Brent Berwin’s lab; Kyle Cady, who worked with George O’Toole; Adel Malek, Amy Piispanen, and Diana Morales, in Professor Deborah Hogan’s lab; Kimberly Spotts, in Ambrose Cheung’s group; and Jarrad Marles, who worked with Ron Taylor. Christina Megli, who graduated with a PhD from the Taylor lab, is now working towards an MD.

Eleanor Clancy-Thompson, a PhD candidate in David Mullin’s lab, was awarded a Research Scholar Award, from the Joanna M. Nicolay Melanoma Foundation, which supports exceptional graduate students. Eleanor was one of nine students awarded this prize in a national competition. Ana Posada, in Ambrose Cheung’s lab, was awarded a Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) GK-12 Fellowship, from the National Science Foundation, meant to introduce current research into the K-12 classroom, and teach fellows to make their research more accessible—the fellowship includes training in communication skills and teaching techniques.

Allia Lindsay and Amy Piispanen, in the Hogan lab, published a paper in Eukaryotic Cell that was spotlighted in Microbe and cited as an article of significant interest by the editors. In Professor George O’Toole lab, Amy Baker was awarded an NSF Graduate Fellowship, Dae-Gon Ha was named the 2012 Rosalind Borison Fellow, and Laura Filkins was appointed to the Molecular and Cellular Biology (MCB) Training Grant, and attended a week-long intensive microscopy course at the Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory where she was awarded for her outstanding presentation of the work she performed during the course.

Dae-Gon is also doing an independent study project at Celdara, a local biotechnology company. Matt Deberge, in Professor Richard Enelow’s lab, was named the James W. McLaughlin Travel Awardee at the 2011 Annual IHII/McLaughlin Colloquium at University of Texas Medical Branch, and he was elected as an Albert J. Ryan Fellow in both 2011 and 2012.

Students in every lab have had successes this year, in their research, presentations, and publications, and we’re looking forward to another year of great work and accomplishments.

by George O’Toole


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *