Elliott awarded NCI K99 grant for Molecularly Guided Surgery

Jonathan Elliott, PhD, was awarded a “Pathway to Independence” grant from the National Cancer Institute in August 2016.  Entitled “Molecularly Guided Surgery for Improved Resection of Glioblastoma Multiforme,” the grant project aims to accelerate Professor Elliott’s promising research career by building upon Dartmouth’s ongoing work in fluorescence-guided surgery (FGS) with ABY-029, the agent approved by FDA for a first-in-human clinical trial.  These two-year grants are given to outstanding postdoctoral researchers to help them advance to tenure-track or equivalent faculty positions.  Funds support Dr. Elliott’s mentored-training program with a core group of NIH-funded researchers at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center (DHMC), including Dr. David Roberts, with Professors Keith Paulsen and Brian Pogue at the Thayer School of Engineering, and Dr. Jack Hoopes in the Geisel School of Medicine. Professor Elliott will conduct a pre-clinical research project to develop and evaluate a new approach to molecular-guided surgery – intraoperative receptor concentration imaging (iRCI). 


Pogue selected as AIMBE Fellow

Brian Pogue, Professor of Engineering and Director of MS and PhD Programs, has been selected by the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) as a new member of its College of Fellows.  AIMBE Fellows represent the top two percent of national medical and biological engineers, and are recognized for their scholarly work in the field.  Brian, who joins Thayer Professor John Zhang and Professor Emeritus Bob Dean as an AIMBE Fellow, was recognized for his work in biomedical optics and imaging.  Congratulations Brian!

Nirfast Workshop at OSA

Prior to the 2016 Optical Society of America Conference in Miami, FL, a one-day Nirfast training was held. The training was organized by Scott Davis and Brian Pogue, Dartmouth College, USA and Hamid Dehghani, University of Birmingham, UK.  The workshop provided a hands-on tutorial for the modeling of diffuse light propagation in tissue, parameter recovery and data analysis.  Visit the Nirfast page for more information about this software.

Andreozzi wins AAPM Award

Dartmouth’s Jacqueline Andreozzi was awarded the 1st place prize in the 2015 John R. Cameron Young Investigators’ Competition by the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM).

The John R. Cameron Young Investigators Symposium features an annual competition for new investigators in honor of University of Wisconsin Professor Emeritus Dr. John Cameron, a founding member of the AAPM.  Of the many submissions from young investigators, reviewers selected the 10 highest scoring abstracts for presentation during a special symposium.  The top three award winners were recognized during the AAPM Annual Meeting Awards and Honors Ceremony on Monday, July 13, 2015, in Anaheim CA, each receiving a plaque and a cash award.

Jacqueline’s abstract is entitled “Rapid Treatment Field Uniformity Optimization for Total Skin Electron Beam Therapy Using Cherenkov Imaging” and it can be found at: Jacqueline Andreozzi AAPM abstract

Congratulations Jacqueline!