Skip to content

2018 Dartmouth College Library Research Award in the Sciences

On May 23rd, Dartmouth College Library presented its fourth Library Research Award in the Sciences. The Award for Library Research in the Sciences is held in conjunction with the Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium and presented in partnership with the Office of Undergraduate Research and Advising (UGAR).    All students who present a poster at Wetterhahn are eligible, and submissions are evaluated by a panel of librarians from Kresge Physical Sciences and Dana Biomedical Libraries.

This award, sponsored by the Friends of Dartmouth College Library, strives to recognize students that demonstrate an exceptional ability to conduct research in the literature of their field, and who have developed an outstanding pattern of research and inquiry.

In reflecting on their research process, the winners have displayed evidence of significant personal learning and a pattern of research that shows the likelihood of persisting in the future. Winners of the Library Research Award, as well as the winners of the Wetterhahn/Sigma Xi science poster competition, will have their certificates or posters displayed in Kresge Library for the coming year and will also be featured in brief video interviews where they will talk about their research experience.

We received several outstanding submissions this year, and are pleased to announce that the winners of the Library Research Award in the Sciences are Hannah Margolis, '20 and Saemi Han, '18.

Hannah is a Sophomore Research Scholar, and  does research in the Michael Ragusa (Chemistry) lab.  Her Wetterhahn poster title is Biochemical investigation of mitochondria autophagy initiation in Saccharomyces Cerevisiae.  Hannah’s submission was notable for her connection of her literature review to the scientific process and its extensive bibliography reflecting diverse sources.

Saemi is presenting her senior honors thesis work from Professor Patricia Pioli’s (Geisel) lab.  Her poster is title CDDO-Me attenuates inflammation in healthy and Systemic Sclerosis (SSc) macrophages.  Saemi’s submission was notable for her sophisticated research strategies and techniques.

Winners of the Library Research Award in the Sciences


Hannah Margolis, '20

Saemi Han, '18


James Howe VI, ‘17

Jessica Kobsa, ‘20


Alexandra Sclafani, ‘18

Yixuan He, ‘18


Annie Fagan, ‘15

Mallory Rutigliano, ‘17




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *