Announcing the 2019 Neukom Literary Arts Awards

On November 8, 2018 by Christine

2019 Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards: Honoring Words about Imagined Worlds


The Neukom Institute for Computational Science at Dartmouth College is accepting book and play submissions for the 2019 Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards. The second season of the awards program will honor works that imagine futures ranging from the possible to the implausible.


The Neukom Awards offers prizes in three categories of speculative fiction, including playwriting, established author and first-time author. Each award comes with a $5,000 honorarium and opportunities to develop, discuss and perform works alongside members of the Dartmouth College community.


Deadline for all submissions is December 31, 2018. The awards will be announced in spring of 2019.


“We are excited to receive submissions for the second Neukom season,” said Daniel Rockmore, director of the Neukom Institute. “Speculative fiction is full of surprises and we can’t wait to read more about our imagined future.”


The award in the playwriting category is a partnership between the Neukom Institute, the Department of Theater at Dartmouth College and Northern Stage based in White River Junction, Vermont.


The award-winning play will receive two developmental readings, one at VoxFest at Dartmouth College in July 2019, and a second at Northern Stage during the 2019/2020 performance season.


Plays should be written in response to the prompt: “What does it mean to be a human in a computerized world?” The award is reserved for plays that have not received a full production.


“Computer technology promises to alter our very concept of humanity,” said Laura Edmondson, chair of Dartmouth’s Department of Theater. “Our hope is that this interdisciplinary partnership will facilitate unflinching and innovative explorations of this societal shift.”


The inaugural winning play was Jessica Andrewartha’s play Choices People Make. Juan Martinez won in the category of debut speculative fiction for Best Worst American (Small Beer Press, 2017). The co-winners of the inaugural prize in the open category were Central Station, by Lavie Tidhar (Tachyon Publications, 2016), and On the Edge of Gone, by Corinne Duyvis (Amulet/Abrams, 2016).


“Last year’s winners came from different genres, but they all shared a hope for our future. There’s a lot of great speculative fiction out there and we look forward to reading as much of it as possible,” said Rockmore.


Additional information on play and book submissions may be found on the Neukom Institute website at:




Comments are closed.