Ann & Jeff VanderMeer to Judge 2019 Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards

On March 13, 2019 by Christine

HANOVER, N.H – March 14, 2019 – Ann and Jeff VanderMeer, two influential figures in speculative fiction, have been announced as judges for the 2019 Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards, presented annually at Dartmouth College to honor and support the spec fic genre.

Ann VanderMeer is a Hugo Award-winning editor who has edited several iconic anthologies and discovered dozens of new writers over her career. Jeff VanderMeer is the critically acclaimed, New York Times bestselling author of the Southern Reach Trilogy and the NEA Big Reads selection Borne. Over a collective 70-year career, they have made countless contributions to the field of speculative fiction.

“Ann and Jeff VanderMeer are two extraordinarily versatile, creative individuals who are among those responsible for not only making spec fic as popular as it is today, but also stretching the boundaries of the field,” said Daniel Rockmore, director of Dartmouth’s Neukom Institute for Computational Science and creator of the awards program. “We are tremendously excited to have them serve as judges.”

The Neukom Awards presents prizes in two book categories: one for a debut author, and another in an open author category. Ann and Jeff VanderMeer will serve as judges for both book awards. There is also a separate award for playwriting.

Each Neukom prize comes with a $5,000 honorarium and opportunities to develop, discuss and perform works alongside members of the Dartmouth College community.

“I am very honored to be a judge for this important award,” said Ann VanderMeer. “As an editor, it has been my goal to find and promote the best speculative work out there and present it to the widest audience. The Neukom awards program is an opportunity for me to discover and shine a bright light onto the past year’s best fiction and share those stories and writers with everyone.”

“We’re delighted to help support this exciting award,” Jeff VanderMeer said. “It definitely will make a difference in writers’ careers in the years to come.”

Authors and publishers from around the world have submitted books for the second season of the Dartmouth spec fic awards program. Taken together, the works demonstrate the power of speculative fiction to help humanity consider its hopes, fears, and fantasies about the future.

The short list of books for this year’s awards will be made public in coming weeks. That list will be decided by Rockmore, along with Dartmouth colleagues, Alexander Chee, Tarek El-Ariss, and Peter Orner, as well as noted essayist and regular New York Review of Books contributor Sue Halpern. The award recipients will be announced in May.

Additional information on the awards may be found on the Neukom Institute website at:


Notes for Editors:
• Ann VanderMeer on Twitter @AnnVanderMeer. More info:
• Jeff VanderMeer on Twitter @JeffVanderMeer. More info:
• Daniel Rockmore on Twitter @dan_rockmore: More info:

About the Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards
The Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards is an annual awards program to honor and support creative works around speculative fiction. Established in 2017, the awards program is an open, international competition sponsored by the Neukom Institute for Computational Science at Dartmouth College. The awards program aspires to raise general awareness of the speculative fiction genre, as well as the interconnectivity between the sciences and the arts. The awards serve

Comments are closed.