The Neukom Institute for Computational Science at Dartmouth College is pleased to open the 2019 Neukom Institute Literary Arts Awards. The arts have always had strong creative connections to the sciences, including computational science. Acting as gadfly for the good, provocateur and satirist when the sciences overreach, but also far-seeing prophets of scientific potential. The arts are among the areas that computational sciences has transformed, not only through its impact on modes of production of artwork, but also as a formative influence on its themes and motivations, notably in the fields of speculative fiction as well as the dramatic arts. To that end, the Neukom Institute is proud to announce three prizes for creative work in the arts.

Three Award Categories

1 • The Neukom Institute Literary Arts Award for Speculative Fiction

2 • The Neukom Institute Literary Arts Award for Debut Speculative Fiction (for a first book)

3 • The Neukom Institute Literary Arts Award for Playwriting

Awards will be announced in Spring of 2019.


Submission Requirements

Any work published or under contract to be published no earlier than June 1, 2016 and no later than December 31, 2018 is eligible. Books (4 copies and if possible an electric copy) should be sent with cover letter that includes which award classification the book falls into, to: Professor Dan Rockmore, c/o Ms. Christine Alberga, Neukom Institute for Computational Science, Dartmouth College, 27 N Main St. Haldeman Center Rm 252, Hanover, NH 03755

Electronic submissions may be sent to:

Full-length plays addressing the question “What does it mean to be a human in a computerized world?”

Submissions must include

  1. An anonymized (blinded) copy of the play
  2. Playwright resume/bio
  3. Production history of the play
  4. 1 page statement of purpose that answers the following questions:
    • A. How does your play address the theme of exploring humanity in our computerized, digital world?
    • B. What are your goals for this play in its current form?
    • C. The winning play will receive two readings: one at VoxFest at Dartmouth College in July 2019, and the second at Northern Stage in White River Junction, VT, during the 2019/2020 season. How would you use this two-part development process to achieve these goals?

Questions? Email Kate Mulley at

Note that plays that have received a full production are not eligible for the competition.

Playwrights can submit using this form.


Each award comes with an honorarium of $5,000. Book award winners will receive their awards at a Dartmouth event in early fall 2019. The winner of the Neukom Institute Literary Arts Award for Playwriting will also receive two readings: one at VoxFest at Dartmouth College in July 2019, and the second at the New Works Now Festival at Northern Stage in White River Junction, VT, during the 2019-2020 season.



Deadline for submission, December 31, 2018.


Comments are closed.