Hanover Bicycle/Pedestrian Committee (HBPC) For 2011 Town Report

The HBPC is an advisory committee to the Hanover Select Board. The committee works to improve biking and pedestrian opportunities in Hanover. It meets the first Thursday of each month at 4 pm at the Howe Library. The public is encouraged to attend.

The highlight of 2011 HBPC efforts was the development of the *Town of Hanover Pedestrian and Bicycle Master Plan*. The plan was well-received at public meetings with the Select Board and Planning Board. We commend Smart Mobility and ORW Landscape Architects and Planners for their hours above and beyond the contract to create an excellent framework for us to improve biking and walking in Hanover. The plan is a great example of what can be done cooperatively and proactively. The town and Dartmouth College jointly funded the project. Other activities in 2011 include:

- Capital improvements on South Park Street and crosswalk improvements on East Wheelock in front of the Hanover Inn.
- Projects under study based on Master Plan recommendations:
 - Route 120 to hospital options including Greensboro Road;
 - ✓ Route 120 Altaria development review;
 - ✓ Route 10-South Main Street to Sachem study in collaboration with Lebanon and NH Department of Transportation; and
 - ✓ Parking lot south of the Inn/Hop and behind Lou's.
- Bicycle/pedestrian counts at Wheelock-Park Streets.
- Monitoring of bicycle and accident reports.
- Celebrated walking & biking in the 4th July Parade.
- Participation on the Safe Routes to School Task Force. The grant was awarded in 2009 and the town awaits an approved contract from the NH DOT.



In the coming year, we will be prioritizing the improvements proposed in the Master Plan and working on implementation. We plan to work on bike safety education, be engaged in the Safe Routes to School project and celebrate the new bike lanes on North Park and South Park Street. For further information about the Hanover Bike/Ped Committee, find us on the town's web site at: http://hanovernh.org



Committee Members: Tim Cox, Doug Deaett, David Dostal, Scot Drysdale (Chair), Sloane Mayor, Barbara McIlroy, Hugh Mellert, Athos Rassias (Select Board Representative), Carol Perera Weingeist, Joanna Whitcomb, Michael Whitfield, Bill Young, Charles R. Sullivan (Ex Officio, now lives in Lebanon)

