Dartmouth College Faculty Experts

Dartmouth College is home to some of the world’s leading scholars in their fields, many of whom have significant experience talking to media and the public about their research and professional expertise.

Joseph Bafumi: Associate Professor of Government
Areas of expertise: Electoral behavior / Campaigns and Elections / Ideology / Public Opinion / Representation / Public Policy / Supreme Court / Research Design / Bayesian Inference / Time Series / Multilevel Modeling / Factor Analysis

Deborah Jordan Brooks: Associate Professor of Government
Areas of expertise: political communication / public opinion / political psychology / gender

Dr. Ira Byock: Professor of Anesthesiology and Community & Family Medicine; Director of Palliative Medicine
Expertise in end-of-life care and palliative care, with an expertise on the current state of end-of-life care and the growing need for it as the Baby Boomer generation ages.

John L. Campbell: The Class of 1925 Professorship, Dartmouth College Professor of Sociology, Dartmouth College Visiting Scholar, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Areas of expertise: Economic, political, and comparative sociology / globalization / comparative political economy / institutional analysis

John Michael Carey: Professor of Government, John Wentworth Professor in the Social Sciences, Fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Areas of expertise: Constitutions / Elections / Legislatures / Latin American politics / New democracies

Mia Costa: Assistant Professor
Areas of expertise: American politics / representation / public opinion / gender / experiments / survey research / political participation

Marc Dixon: Associate Professor of Sociology
Areas of expertise: Collective Behavior and Social Movements / Sociology of Work and Labor / Political Sociology / Historical Sociology

Jim Feyrer: Associate Professor of Economics
Expertise on macroeconomics, fiscal policy, global capital flows, globalization, implications of technological change, and economic growth in the long run. Recent research includes work on the impact of the fiscal stimulus (ARRA).

William A. Fischel: Professor of Economics The Robert C. 1925 and Hilda Hardy Professor of Legal Studies
Areas of expertise: Local government; school finance; land-use controls; regulatory takings

Dr. Elliott Fisher: Professor at Dartmouth Medical School and Director for Population Health and Policy at The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice
Expertise in the differences in spending observed across U.S. regions and health care systems, on understanding the consequences of these variations for health and health care, the development and testing of approaches to performance measurement and payment reform that can support improvement.

Michael Herron: Remsen 1943 Professor of Government, Program in Quantitative Social Science, Chair
Areas of expertise: Election administration / game theory / legislative politics / statistical methods / political economy / Ballot abnormalities and residual votes / Government redistribution

Dean Lacy: Professor of Government, Director of the Program in Politics and Law, Assistant Provost for Faculty Recruitment
Areas of expertise: Elections / public opinion / political parties and interest groups / lawmaking / Congress / presidency / survey research / game theory / experiments / statistical methods / economic sanctions

J. Russell Muirhead: Department of Government, Chair, Robert Clements Professor of Democracy and Politics, Co-Director of the Political Economy Project
Areas of expertise: ideas and institutions in American constitutional democracy / democratic theory / political economy/ political theory of work / American political thought / auto repair / partisanship and ideology / contemporary political theory

Herschel S. Nachlis: Research Assistant Professor of Government, Policy Fellow at the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences
Areas of expertise: American Politics / health politics and policy / American political development / Public Law; judicial policymaking, constitutional development / Public Policy; agencies, regulation, and representation

Annelise Orleck: Professor of History
Areas of expertise: Women in politics / poverty policy / demographics / 20th century presidential campaigns / American populism and social movements, including right wing movements and knowledge of labor history and labor politics.

Andrew A. Samwick: Sandra L. and Arthur L. Irving ’72a P’10 Professor of Economics Director, Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences
Areas of expertise: Applied Microeconomics; Finance; Public Policy; Social Entrepreneurship

Ronald G. Shaiko: Senior Fellow, Associate Director, Curricular and Research Programs at the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences
Areas of expertise: American Politics; interest groups and lobbying, Congress, nonprofit organizations / Comparative Politics; democratization, social movements, interest groups and lobbying / Public Policy: policy process, policy analysis

Jonathan Skinner: Professor of Economics and of Community & Family Medicine
Expertise in the causes and consequences of geographic variation in health care and health outcomes, the sustainability of growth in Medicare and in health care more generally, and why the U.S. health care system has been growing so rapidly compared to other countries.

Matthew J. Slaughter: Associate Dean for the MBA Program and the Signal Companies’ Professor of Management at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth
Areas of expertise: Economics and politics of globalization / Policy responses to the World Financial Crisis / The global operations of multinational firms and on the labor-market impacts of international trade and investment.

Charles J. Wheelan Senior Lecturer and Policy Fellow at the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences
Areas of expertise: public policy; accessible economics; accessible statistics; strategic communication


For media inquiries please contact the Office of Communication:


(603) 646-3661