All posts by Sally Hull

Red Journal features Tendler paper on radiation oncology

A publication by Irwin Tendler, a PhD student at the Thayer School, in the Red Journal of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO)  has garnered much attention lately through tweets and other online buzz.

The paper, entitled “Experimentally Observed Cherenkov Light Generation in the Eye During Radiation Therapy,” reports that Dartmouth researchers have produced evidence of the flashes of light that patients report seeing during radiation treatment, even when their eyes are closed.  It helps explain the phenomenon and will benefit future research efforts.

Here are some of the recent reports about this exciting development:

Alexander abstract wins ‘Top 3’ award at 2020 Radiosurgery Society meeting

Congratulations to Thayer PhD student Daniel Alexander, whose scientific abstract was awarded one of the “Top 3” prizes by the Physics Section of The Radiosurgery Society.

Dan will present his paper, “Cherenkov Imaging for Adaptive Replanning Guidance in Head and Neck Radiotherapy,” at the group’s 2020 Annual Scientific Meeting in April, which is focused on the use of precision therapies to improve patient care.


LaRochelle abstract receives top selection at WMIC

Ethan LaRochelle recently attended the World Molecular Imaging Congress (WMIC) in Montreal. His abstract titled “Real-time non-contact in vivo pO2 imaging during radiotherapy of unanesthetized mice,” was selected as one of the best abstracts at the conference.  Ethan presented this work during the Highlights in Instrumentation & Methodology session.  Thayer faculty Kimberley Samkoe PhD and Jonathan Elliot PhD, and Optics in Medicine collaborator Dr. Eric Henderson, also attended and presented research at the conference.

CIM Optics Seminars return – Summer 2019

The Center for Imaging Medicine at Dartmouth is once again hosting our summer Optics Seminars. This year’s speakers are:

  • 6/28/2019 – Kavon Karrobi, PhD candidate, Biomedical Engineering, Boston University.
  • 7/9/2019 – Michael Durst, PhD, Department of Physics, Middlebury College.
  • 7/11/2019 – Kenneth Tichauer, PhD, Biomedical Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology.
  • 7/23/2019 – Irving Bigio, PhD, Biomedical Engineering, Boston University
  • 8/6/2019 – Steve Jacques, PhD, Biomedical Engineering, Tufts University
  • 8/13/2019 – Mark Niedre, PhD, Bioengineering, Northeastern University
  • 8/20/2019 – Jinyang Liang, PhD, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Varennes, Quebec

For more information on seminar locations, please contact Sally Hull.

Streeter brings home top SPIE poster prize

At this year’s SPIE International Graduate Summer School for Biophotonics, Thayer PhD student Samuel Streeter won the Best Poster Presentation award.  His work was titled “High Spatial Frequency Structured Light Imaging Texture Analysis for Rapid and Wide Field-of-View Surface Tissue Characterization.”   Congratulations Sam!

This was the 9th International Graduate summer school and was focused on  the study of optical methods and instruments that use light to measure interactions with tissue for diagnosis and treatment monitoring.  The program is taught by internationally renowned experts in biophotonics, this year including Thayer Professor Brian Pogue.